Get free updates by Email

Report an error

Legal Voting Age around the World

Legal Voting Age around the World
Country nameAgeNote
Austria16 yrs
Brazil16 yrsvoluntary between 16 and 18 years of age and over 70; compulsory over 18 and under 70 years of age; note - military conscripts do not vote
Cuba16 yrs
Guernsey16 yrs
Isle of Man16 yrs
Jersey16 yrs
Nicaragua16 yrs
Indonesia17 yrsmarried persons regardless of age
Korea, North17 yrs
Seychelles17 yrs
Sudan17 yrs
Timor-Leste17 yrs
Afghanistan18 yrs
Albania18 yrs
Algeria18 yrs
American Samoa18 yrs
Andorra18 yrs
Angola18 yrs
Anguilla18 yrs
Antigua and Barbuda18 yrs
Argentina18 yrs
Armenia18 yrs
Aruba18 yrs
Australia18 yrs
Azerbaijan18 yrs
Bahamas, The18 yrs
Bangladesh18 yrs
Barbados18 yrs
Belarus18 yrs
Belgium18 yrs
Belize18 yrs
Benin18 yrs
Bermuda18 yrs
Bhutan18 yrs
Bolivia18 yrscompulsory (married); 21 years of age, universal and compulsory (single)
Bosnia and Herzegovina18 yrs
Botswana18 yrs
Brunei18 yrs18 years of age for village elections
Bulgaria18 yrs
Burkina Faso18 yrs
Burundi18 yrs
Cambodia18 yrs
Canada18 yrs
Cape Verde18 yrs
Cayman Islands18 yrs
Chad18 yrs
Chile18 yrs
China18 yrs
Christmas Island18 yrs
Cocos (Keeling) Islands18 yrs
Colombia18 yrs
Comoros18 yrs
Congo, Republic of the18 yrs
Congo, Democratic Republic of the18 yrs
Cook Islands18 yrs
Costa Rica18 yrs
Côte d'Ivoire18 yrs
Croatia18 yrs16 years of age, if employed
Cyprus18 yrs
Czech Republic18 yrs
Denmark18 yrs
Djibouti18 yrs
Dominica18 yrs
Dominican Republic18 yrsmarried persons regardless of age; note - members of the armed forces and national police cannot vote
Ecuador18 yrscompulsory for literate persons ages 18-65, optional for other eligible voters
Egypt18 yrs
El Salvador18 yrs
Equatorial Guinea18 yrs
Eritrea18 yrs
Estonia18 yrs
Ethiopia18 yrs
Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)18 yrs
Faroe Islands18 yrs
Finland18 yrs
France18 yrs
French Guiana18 yrs
French Polynesia18 yrs
Gambia, The18 yrs
Georgia18 yrs
Germany18 yrs
Ghana18 yrs
Gibraltar18 yrsBritish citizens who have been residents six months or more
Greece18 yrs
Greenland18 yrs
Grenada18 yrs
Guadeloupe18 yrs
Guam18 yrsuniversal; US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Guatemala18 yrsactive duty members of the armed forces may not vote and are restricted to their barracks on election day
Guinea18 yrs
Guinea-Bissau18 yrs
Guyana18 yrs
Haiti18 yrs
Honduras18 yrs
Hong Kong18 yrsdirect election - 18 years of age for half the legislature and a majority of seats in 18 district councils; universal for permanent residents living in the territory of Hong Kong for the past seven years; indirect election - limited to about 220,000 members of functional constituencies and an 800-member election committee drawn from broad regional groupings, central government bodies, and municipal organizations
Hungary18 yrs
Iceland18 yrs
India18 yrs
Iran18 yrs
Iraq18 yrs
Ireland18 yrs
Israel18 yrs
Italy18 yrsexcept in senatorial elections, where minimum age is 25
Jamaica18 yrs
Jordan18 yrs
Kazakhstan18 yrs
Kenya18 yrs
Kiribati18 yrs
Kyrgyzstan18 yrs
Laos18 yrs
Latvia18 yrsuniversal for Latvian citizens
Lesotho18 yrs
Liberia18 yrs
Libya18 yrstechnically compulsory
Liechtenstein18 yrs
Lithuania18 yrs
Luxembourg18 yrs
Macau18 yrsdirect election 18 years of age for some non-executive positions, universal for permanent residents living in Macau for the past seven years; indirect election limited to organizations registered as "corporate voters" (257 are currently registered) and a 300-member Election Committee drawn from broad regional groupings, municipal organizations, and central government bodies
Macedonia18 yrs
Madagascar18 yrs
Malawi18 yrs
Mali18 yrs
Malta18 yrs
Marshall Islands18 yrs
Martinique18 yrs
Mauritania18 yrs
Mauritius18 yrs
Mayotte18 yrs
Mexico18 yrscompulsory (but not enforced)
Micronesia, Federated States of18 yrs
Moldova18 yrs
Monaco18 yrs
Mongolia18 yrs
Montenegro18 yrs
Montserrat18 yrs
Morocco18 yrs
Mozambique18 yrs
Burma18 yrs
Namibia18 yrs
Nepal18 yrs
Netherlands18 yrs
Netherlands Antilles18 yrs
New Caledonia18 yrs
New Zealand18 yrs
Niger18 yrs
Nigeria18 yrs
Niue18 yrs
Norfolk Island18 yrs
Northern Mariana Islands18 yrsindigenous inhabitants are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Norway18 yrs
Pakistan18 yrs
Palau18 yrs
Panama18 yrs
Papua New Guinea18 yrs
Paraguay18 yrscompulsory up to age 75
Peru18 yrscompulsory until the age of 70; note - for the first time in recent elections, members of the military and national police were eligible to vote in the 2006 elections
Philippines18 yrs
Pitcairn Islands18 yrsuniversal with three years residency
Poland18 yrs
Portugal18 yrs
Puerto Rico18 yrsisland residents are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Qatar18 yrs
Réunion18 yrs
Romania18 yrs
Russia18 yrs
Rwanda18 yrs
Saint Barthélemy18 yrs
Saint Kitts and Nevis18 yrs
Saint Lucia18 yrs
Saint Martin18 yrs
Saint Pierre and Miquelon18 yrs
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines18 yrs
San Marino18 yrs
Sao Tome and Principe18 yrs
Senegal18 yrs
Serbia18 yrs
Sierra Leone18 yrs
Slovakia18 yrs
Slovenia18 yrs16 years of age, if employed
Somalia18 yrs
South Africa18 yrs
Spain18 yrs
Sri Lanka18 yrs
Suriname18 yrs
Swaziland18 yrs
Sweden18 yrs
Switzerland18 yrs
Syria18 yrs
Tajikistan18 yrs
Tanzania18 yrs
Thailand18 yrs
Togo18 yrs
Trinidad and Tobago18 yrs
Tunisia18 yrsuniversal except for active government security forces (including the police and the military), people with mental disabilities, people who have served more than three months in prison (criminal cases only), and people given a suspended sentence of more than six months
Turkey18 yrs
Turkmenistan18 yrs
Turks and Caicos Islands18 yrs
Tuvalu18 yrs
Uganda18 yrs
Ukraine18 yrs
United Kingdom18 yrs
United States18 yrs
Uruguay18 yrs
Uzbekistan18 yrs
Vanuatu18 yrs
Venezuela18 yrs
Vietnam18 yrs
British Virgin Islands18 yrs
Virgin Islands18 yrsisland residents are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Wallis and Futuna18 yrs
Yemen18 yrs
Zambia18 yrs
Zimbabwe18 yrs
Korea, South19 yrs
Bahrain20 yrs
Cameroon20 yrs
Japan20 yrs
Nauru20 yrs
Taiwan20 yrs
Central African Republic21 yrs
Fiji21 yrs
Gabon21 yrs
Kuwait21 yrsmales in the military or police are not allowed to vote; adult females were allowed to vote as of 16 May 2005; all voters must have been citizens for 20 years
Lebanon21 yrscompulsory for all males; authorized for women at age 21 with elementary education; excludes military personnel
Malaysia21 yrs
Maldives21 yrs
Oman21 yrsmembers of the military and security forces are not allowed to vote
Samoa21 yrs
Saudi Arabia21 yrs
Singapore21 yrs
Solomon Islands21 yrs
Tokelau21 yrs
Tonga21 yrs
Saint Helenan/a
United Arab Emiratesnone
Western Saharanonea UN-sponsored voter identification campaign not yet completed
No Results
Filter :Loading...

Minimum Legal Age to Marry - Men

4.20 rating | 82,750 views | 15 comments

The Legal Status of Prostitution by Country

4.38 rating | 738,831 views | 63 comments

Minimum Legal Age to Marry - Women

4.20 rating | 93,160 views | 8 comments

Minimum Legal Age for Drinking Alcohol around the World

4.04 rating | 117,973 views | 12 comments
About | Chat | Contact | Sign Up | Privacy | Legal | Feedback