Get free updates by Email

Report an error

List of African Union Member States

List of African Union Member States
Common nameOfficial nameAccession dateNotes
AlgeriaPeople's Democratic Republic of Algeria05/25/1963
AngolaRepublic of Angola02/11/1979
BeninRepublic of Benin05/25/1963Known as Dahomey until 1975.
BotswanaRepublic of Botswana10/31/1966
Burkina FasoBurkina Faso05/25/1963Known as Upper Volta until 1984.
BurundiRepublic of Burundi05/25/1963
CameroonRepublic of Cameroon05/25/1963
Cape VerdeRepublic of Cape Verde07/18/1975
Central African RepublicCentral African Republic05/25/1963
ChadRepublic of Chad05/25/1963
ComorosUnion of the Comoros07/18/1975
CongoRepublic of the Congo05/25/1963
Côte d'IvoireRepublic of Côte d'Ivoire05/25/1963Known by its translated name (in English "Ivory Coast") until 1985. suspended after the 2010–2011 Ivorian crisis.
DjiboutiRepublic of Djibouti06/27/1977
DR CongoDemocratic Republic of the Congo05/25/1963Known as Zaire from 1971-1997.
EgyptArab Republic of Egypt05/25/1963
Equatorial GuineaRepublic of Equatorial Guinea10/12/1968
EritreaState of Eritrea05/24/1993Alleged support of Somali Islamists attempting to topple the Transitional Federal Government of Somalia.
EthiopiaFederal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia05/25/1963
GabonGabonese Republic05/25/1963
GambiaRepublic of The Gambia10/01/1965
GhanaRepublic of Ghana05/25/1963
GuineaRepublic of Guinea05/25/1963Suspended December 23 2008 after a military coup.
Guinea-BissauRepublic of Guinea-Bissau11/19/1973
KenyaRepublic of Kenya12/13/1963
LesothoKingdom of Lesotho10/31/1966
LiberiaRepublic of Liberia05/25/1963
LibyaGreat Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya05/25/1963
MadagascarRepublic of Madagascar05/25/1963Suspended from December 2001-July 10 2003. Suspended March 20 2009 after a political crisis.
MalawiRepublic of Malaŵi07/13/1964
MaliRepublic of Mali05/25/1963
MauritaniaIslamic Republic of Mauritania05/25/1963Suspended August 4 2005 after a military coup. Presidential elections were held in March 2007. Suspended August 6 2008 after a military coup.
MauritiusRepublic of Mauritius08/01/1968
MoroccoKingdom of Morocco05/25/1963Withdraw from OAU on 1984 .
MozambiqueRepublic of Mozambique07/18/1975
NamibiaRepublic of Namibia06/01/1990
NigerRepublic of Niger05/25/1963Suspended 8 February 2010 after a military coup.
NigeriaFederal Republic of Nigeria05/25/1963
RwandaRepublic of Rwanda05/25/1963
São Tomé and PríncipeDemocratic Republic of São Tomé and Príncipe07/18/1975
SenegalRepublic of Senegal05/25/1963
SeychellesRepublic of Seychelles06/29/1976
Sierra LeoneRepublic of Sierra Leone05/25/1963
SomaliaFederal Republic of Somalia05/25/1963
South AfricaRepublic of South Africa06/06/1994
SudanRepublic of Sudan05/25/1963
SwazilandKingdom of Swaziland09/24/1968
TanzaniaUnited Republic of Tanzania01/16/1964Tanganyika 1963-05-25 Zanzibar 1963-05-25 Both country merged April 26 1964 to form the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar which was renamed Tanzania November 1 1964.
TogoTogolese Republic05/25/1963Suspended from February 25 2005 after concerns over unconstitutional presidential appointment. Presidential elections were held May 4 2005.
TunisiaTunisian Republic05/25/1963
UgandaRepublic of Uganda05/25/1963
Western SaharaSahrawi Arab Democratic Republic02/22/1982
ZambiaRepublic of Zambia12/16/1964
ZimbabweRepublic of Zimbabwe06/01/1980
Filter : Loading...

Map of European Union Member States

3.94 rating | 294,366 views | 2 comments

Percent Black by Country

3.89 rating | 12,801 views | 0 comments

Materials recycling rate

5.00 rating | 1,120 views | 0 comments

Proportion of Seats Held by Women in National Parliaments

4.53 rating | 47,250 views | 2 comments
About | Chat | Contact | Sign Up | Privacy | Legal | Feedback